reflections

‘How’s your hotel, Vi?’

‘Oh, it’s a pleasant surprise, huge room, enormous full length mirror, I love the mirror, hold on…’

I send him a pic of me in the mirror. Fully clothed.

‘Looks good’ he said. ‘Now if you just lay down on that big bed behind you, maybe take off some of that clothing…’

‘Great idea,’ I typed.  ‘Gimme a few minutes.’

I took a few minutes. The texts flew through.

Violet, you ready?
Violet, what are you wearing?
Violet, I’m dying here, come on, I need you.

I needed him too. I really did.

My clothes were off, my underwear on the floor, I was under the covers. Fabulous sheets, king size bed, so cosy.

I picked up the phone.

‘If you want me, you’re going to have to fly to Cape Town.’

And I switched the phone off. Went to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing outside my window.

When I woke I used the giant bathtub, added tons of bubbles, tried out all the hotel body creams, ordered room service and checked my messages.

‘Flight FA 202, arrives at 10 am tomorrow morning.  Meet me at the airport.’

My heart!

Reader. Maybe this is going to go somewhere after all.

Except they say communication is the key to any good relationship.

I leave Cape Town tonight.

mirror

11 thoughts on “reflections

Leave a Reply

