Haters gonna hate

I sometimes get into Twitter wars.

I can’t help it; I see people posting stuff that is racist or prejudiced and I find it hard to keep quiet.

So I try and engage.

I’ve tried in different ways.

Hey, that doesn’t sound so democratic…

Hey, I know you’re angry but maybe you’re directing your anger at the wrong people…

You know I don’t really like being called a Jewish pig, that’s kinda generalising don’t you think?

What I have not yet learned is that it hardly ever helps, no matter which tactic you choose, to talk to haters. You can try engage seriously and ask questions about why or what. You can say  you think burning libraries is not such a good idea or that using Hitler as a role model is pretty damn dangerous

It mostly lands up in a barrage of name calling and doesn’t get anybody anywhere.

I leave the conversations feeling battered, shattered and pretty terrified of the hatred that is out there.

The last guy I tried to chat to was a student praising Mcebo Dlamini for being a Hitler lover.

Dlamini is one of the leaders of the Fees Must Fall movement at Wits University. He digs Hitler.  People dig him.  It’s mad.

When I said I didn’t think that Black Consciousness leader Steve Biko would’ve approved of such blatant anti-semitism he called me ‘a white supremacist and of course Hitler was right and we should all have landed up in the gas…’oh oops there goes the 140 character Twitter limit and I’m kinda glad I didn’t have to hear the end of the rant.

I need to walk away.

I also need to remember that the haters are in the minority, that they just seem to take over and make everything awful but honestly, most things are good and most people are good and we all want the same which is peace and health, wine and cake, also respect, freedom and equality and goddammit let’s go after all these good things that  we deserve, let’s just do it together and harmoniously and yeah, I’m dreaming again hey.

Gods.  Goddesses.

We need to chill out.

Smoke some weed.

Set fire to joints instead of libraries.

Have great sex.

And love, a whole lot more.

weed

18 thoughts on “Haters gonna hate

  1. This makes me so angry and sad. How can people be so horrible?

    You’re right though, that arguing with these people rarely helps. Maybe it’s because the prejudice runs so deep that it’s a part of who they are. I don’t know. It makes me sad.

    You are lovely and I can’t understand anyone giving you abuse. Their loss.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think it is a very (but of course not the majority) South African thing right now, you just have to read the comments section on an article or similar. Usually 3 intelligent comments before it all degenerates into a slanging match. We’re paying the price for our so called rainbow nation, where we never quite reconciled our real problems from 1994….

      Like

  2. I always find the best policy is to not engage at all. It’s impossible to have a reasonable discussion with haters.
    And if you get targeted? Mute and move on. That way they won’t know you aren’t seeing their tweets, unlike blocking. Leave them shouting into the void.
    😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The hate that surrounds us is scary. Worse each end of the political spectrum truly believes that the other side is going to do something to them. I don’t understand how the causes of so much hate. Maybe we should just pull the tv and movie plugs and just go back to when we were not so surrounded by all the hatred in this world or if we were …we just didn’t know it in quite the same way that we do now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re not alone, that’s for sure. And the reason it appears there are so many haters in the world is because of how many ways there are to hate. Love is love is love, but hate takes many forms like the Hydra with its ridiculous number of heads. They are so much louder. Hate is a loud thing. Love is like a whisper on the wind. It takes a while to notice and sometimes they are so deep in their hate that love can’t break through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

