Dance like nobody’s watching

‘Gather round, in a circle, hold hands, breathe in…’

I did not want to gather around. I did not want to get all touchy feely. I certainly did not want to look anyone deeply in the eye or share my emotions.

I just wanted to drink wine.

But I had committed to a class of Biodanza and so, I gathered around, held hands with those around me, took a deep breath in, put wine out of my mind and then…

Danced.

Oh my dear magnificent Goddesses.

What an amazing experience. We danced. We danced on our own, we danced with strangers, we danced to the beat, we danced badly, we danced really close, we danced without judgement, we grooved, we go-go danced, we got rid of all our stress, we sweated, we laughed, we did not cry because it was not that kind of touchy feely and it was the best thing I have done in years.

I didn’t drink wine but I did drink 3 litres of water.

And when I got home, feeling fabulous and fantastic, I had a bubble bath, drank another 3 litres of water and then went to sleep.

So happy.

Which is exactly what Biodanza is. Biodanza means ‘Dance with Life.’ And that is what you do. You dance so hard you feel like you’re flying. And when you slow down it feels like you’re floating.

It was as good as really really really good sex.

It helped that we had a brilliant facilitator, Michele Dean.  Also, a wonderful and small group of people, each wanting the same thing. To dance and to feel free. We were white, black, young, old, hip, not hip, Biodanza converted and skeptical. (that would be me)

I am possibly the most clumsy person in the world, also kind of the least touchy feely when it comes to strangers. But this was cool. Not touchy feely in that oh god painful touchy feely way. But good real honest wonderful connection.

Michele has the best music. We danced to world music from Africa and South America, Ali Farka Toure, Ry Cooder, Bobby McFerrin and Chuck Berry, also some Indian sacred spirit do not roll your eyes stuff, lots of jazz and man, it was all good.

I need more music in my life. I need more dance in my life. I need more strangers in life.

And I cannot wait to go back!

michelle

Michele Dean 0832677986
Michele@limeblue.co.za
Or
Facebook – Biodanza Melville
Facebook – Biobliss – Recovering joy and connection

17 thoughts on “Dance like nobody’s watching

Leave a Reply

