Slam

‘I don’t take kindly to having the phone put down on me, Violet.’

‘I’m sorry I did that. It was churlish. But honestly, I don’t take kindly to having my messages ignored.’

‘I did not ignore your message Violet; I just knew you didn’t mean it.’

I didn’t mean it? Come on. I’d invited my difficult friend out for dinner. Somewhere lovely, with linen tablecloths and a fabulous wine list. It was my attempt at something a bit more real than what we currently have.

It was my attempt at something a little more than what we currently have.

By ignoring my message, it was pretty clear he didn’t want anything more.

So when he called me suggesting that I was avoiding him and I was the one with commitment issues and I was the one who, goddam always I, always my fault, always me, I put the phone down.

He was projecting his bullshit on to me, as I have learned, the men that I choose are prone to do.

So yeah, I put the phone down.

Silly to do that, hey.

So silly.

But very bloody satisfying.

slams

10 thoughts on “Slam

  1. “Rotary phones are built to be slammed! Once in college we actually had a contest to measure the toughness of such. We failed to slam the life out of our rotary beast😎”

    As for difficult connections…hope and expectations short circuit our paths from time to time. Conveying our intentions from first contact is the only smooth path, until we find out the other person’s intentions were not quite truly theirs…😔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

