Vaginas in the age of politics

There is something about the internet that allows people to believe they can write anything.  Comment on anything.

Which they can. It’s easy to hide behind a screen and spew hatred and prejudice without repercussion.

A reader recently told me my sex writing had become boring.

You’re always ranting Violet. You go off the topic instead of writing about sex.

That is a fair enough comment.

I replied with an Oops sorry, and sent him a link to another more exciting sex writer.

He swore at me, then blocked me.

Another reader told me I bring women’s issues into everything I write about. That if I am talking about my orgasms I bring feminism into them.

Stick to your orgasms, Violet. You screech feminism at every opportunity. We don’t care about feminism, only your vagina.

I offered to send him a picture of my vagina. That seemed to calm him down. Until I didn’t send the picture, and then guess what?

He blocked me too.

There was the gentleman who stalked me for weeks, totally outraged when he read that I masturbated. He typed furiously on almost every single blog:-

Women should never masturbate Violet, it’s a sin, just wrong, how dare you?

When I patiently explained that almost all women do, and if they don’t they don’t know what they’re missing – boom bang BLOCK.

I did not block these men. They blocked me.

I repeat, they blocked me.

And I am more outraged about being blocked than I am about being spoken to rudely.

It is a little bit like our country. Right now so many of us South Africans are scared to use our voices. We are too young, too old, too DA, too white, too black, not black enough, too ANC, too not ANC, too gay, too Jewish, too Muslim, too much and too divided.

And too intimidated.

In the same way I give advice about opening our legs, I am going to give advice about opening our mouths, our ears and our minds.

Listen well.

Speak well.

And do not be scared of words. Or of using them. Wisely.

We need to find a platform where we can come together to debate, rather than fight.

We need to find new ways to communicate.

We need to sort out our fucking problems.

And in case you think I am off brand, we need to find new ways to love.  To have great sex, great wine, brilliant friendships, lots of food, champagne, peace and oysters.

And love.

Lots and lots of free delicious love.

love

41 thoughts on “Vaginas in the age of politics

  1. Isn’t it quite astonishing how so many men feel the need to tell us how and what to do with our vagina’s, our mouths and our views? If they don’t like it, the “block” is as symbolic as a comment about our silly emotions getting in the way of their “manliness”.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I don’t understand why we can’t use our vaginas to promote and in support of our feminine causes! 🙂 Good luck! I gave up on writing about stuff that matter to the macro economy or the nation, even world, as a whole. I stick to poetry, prose and pondering (on emotions, mental health, anything under the sun not related to politics and religion) because I get more likes and responses. I’ll slowly sneak these 2 topics in as opportunities present themselves… for the sake of peace and sanity. Or am I being a coward? Rather be happy than right…
    You are brave, Violet! I’ll cheer you on from the sidelines. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’re right that everyone thinks they can say what they want – just read any comments on any Youtube clip ever!
    You are way better off without these narrow minded rude people.
    Your writing is like a breath of fresh air – Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you, that is kind
      it is just the trolls that I hate, the guys who get off on the online abuse.
      on the other hand, I remember a woman who followed me, years ago, read every blog word for word and told me how awful each one was. dear sweet goddesses and hahahahahahaha BOOM

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Preach it, I say! Seriously, I can’t believe there are still men who have a problem with women having free agency over their own bodies and having… GASP!… sexual desires which they… DOUBLE GASP!… even act on! What’s the world coming to? It’s the end times! Cats and dogs living together! Toast with butter on the wrong side! Panic, everyone. PANIC! 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So sorry that happpened! So scared because Im just starting sexuality blogs and keep hesitiating – I write and write and write but am too afraid to share because of creeps! It’s so sick that women have to be scared about writing female issues – these sickos are afraid of women having agency over their own bodies!

    https://laurahoney.com/

    Like

  6. There are words for words in this English language we use…nearly twice the total number of the next largest vocabulary. Why wouldn’t you, and I and everyone else with the capacity to manipulate this ocean of consonants and vowels, express the part of us the rest of humanity needs to experience? Women have been ignored for far too long, for absolutely no credible reason! Speak often, speak loud, use every lever possible to be heard! Vagina included😎

    As for blocking…maturity escapes so many, even though they’ve lived long enough to know better?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How dare you be a vagina AND a mind?! That is too much! They must use their keyboards and their hands to block their penises! You are a dangerous, dangerous, soft, dewy, flower that will devour them and…
    Oh, please. Maybe they should just run home and get their diapers changed and try again some other day.

    Like

  8. Yes, well said, Violet!! You are a woman, you embrace your sexuality and have multiple interests. Gasp, how could that happen?! 😂

    I would laugh at such narrowly focused people if their sense of superiority wasn’t quite so off-putting . They are the stagnant ones, the unbendable ones, the ones afraid to cede any personal control in a world that feels out of control. Be glad they blocked you as I’m thinking those are the kind of readers who could go either way – blocking or obsession?

    Like

Leave a Reply

