Where’s my pen?

Last night I lay in bed tossing and turning, dreaming of my damn table. It’s been on three legs for close to a year.

I have to fix it.

When I woke this morning the first thing I did was write a huge note to myself.

FIX THE DINING ROOM TABLE.

I scribbled it in capital letters and in thick blood red pen.

To be honest, I’ve written it before. There are notes stuck on the fridge, on the front door, in my diary, on my arm and taped to my underwear drawer.

FIX THE DINING ROOM TABLE.

I don’t know why I can’t do it; I become immobile.

Anyway, today I had to do it. I have things coming up, dates and dinners and parties and I need a table that isn’t going to collapse.

With new determination and red pen all over my fingers, I showered and washed my hair. I put on my oldest jeans, the ones that are perfect for fixing tables, faded and full of holes.

They’re very nice, actually.

I wandered down to my coffee shop for a bit of sustenance. And to show off my jeans.  I sipped a cappuccino, read the paper and ate a croissant while chatting to the man next to me.

We spoke about everything except tables.

I came home, looked at the table, looked at the tools, looked at the couch and went to lie down for a bit.

I napped.

Woke up, did the laundry, did a bit of work, played some scrabble, flipped a few channels then went for a manicure because I have no fucking idea why I went for a manicure and what was I even thinking but my nails look great and I came home and now it’s evening and the table still has three legs.

I’m typing on it by the way.

In fact, every single blog I have ever written has been written on this three legged table.

I’ve even had sex on this table.

I’m not sure what the problem was, why I was so anxious.

It’s not important.

Nothing urgent.

I’ll think about it tomorrow.

Where’s my red pen?

table

 

9 thoughts on “Where’s my pen?

  1. Is the missing leg gone…?

    It seems that we procrastinate away from the amount of effort needed to accomplish?

    If there exists a passionate determination, procrastination lies dormant. Absent of such hunger to achieve, we push the tasks to the edge of never, before they either piss someone off just enough to respond, or we align sufficient sympathy from others to intervene?

    I have a long list of table legs around the house😎

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haha Great post 🙂
    I find the best way for me to do these kinds of chores, is not to put it on a list, but just go do it when I have the inclination. It actually gets done much quicker then, because I don’t ‘have to do it’ as it were. Maybe that’s just me! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

