Intuition

You know that thing when you set up a date and you’re all excited? And you prepare in advance, thinking of your clothes, your hair, your shoes and which perfume to wear.

And you feel good and your heart beats quickly and you have those feelings of maybe, just maybe this is the guy?

Well, I have a date coming up.

But I’m not having any of those feelings.

Instead, I feel uneasy.

And there’s nothing that I can put my finger on. No explanation. I think he’s a nice man, good looking man, interesting man, we have a few vague connections.

But something is telling me – no.

Don’t do it, Violet.  

Do. Not. Do. It.

And it may be crazy as I have absolutely nothing to base my unease on, but – I’m about to pluck up the courage, call and cancel.

And I’ll never know if it’s the right thing to do, and maybe I’m missing out on the man who could become my fabulous partner and keep me in stockings and champagne forever.

Except, I don’t think so and it was just a date and I right now called to cancel and said hello I’m sorry but I don’t think we should go out and he said okay then no problem and sounded vaguely relieved too.

Sometimes, you just know what to do.

Sometimes.

date

11 thoughts on “Intuition

  1. Sometimes you just have to go with your instincts… if you were having those bad feelings, and he was too, then there was a reason. We’ve evolved a lot, but in the end we’re animals. If a wild animal gets a bad feeling, it doesn’t question it. It just runs.

    And it escapes the leopard, or the fire, or whatever.

    Like you say, you’ll never quite know what it was, but your subconscious has a reason, I’m sure of it. And maybe next time things will be different. Maybe it’s just not the right time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

