Facebook

Today on Facebook I discovered that Mary had a cheese sandwich for lunch and Joe loves his wife so much he just couldn’t manage without her. Suzanne is in a new relationship with Douglas and Rosie’s dog chewed her iPhone.

I liked the cheese sandwich which already had fifty three likes, wished Suzanne a big congratulations even though it is her third relationship in three months, and gave a big shout out to the dog.

And then I updated my status.

Yo Jo’burg, it’s wet and rainy, time to impulsively buy a new pair of boots.

I got ten likes within two minutes.

I thought about ‘impulsively’ going to buy these new boots but instead watched a tutorial on how to apply liquid eyeliner and admired Talia’s holiday pics.

I have no idea who Talia is.

I stalked an old lover, stalked another old lover and thought about stalking a potential lover.

It took a lot of courage not to.

Instead I checked the cheese sandwich. It was up to a hundred and three likes. My boot post was still only on ten.

Ten, even though I hadn’t yet impulsively bought them.

Facebook makes me immobile. I get stuck. I find myself liking things I don’t like. I watch videos that are ridiculous.  I tell the whole world about my boots.  I waste an inordinate amount of time.

I forced myself to close my computer, leave the house and go to the shoe shop. I found the most fantastic pair of boots. I bought them. I photographed them. I put the photograph on Facebook.

And then, in a very strong moment,  I deleted the pic.  And I logged out. I deleted the Facebook app.

And I know it’s only the app on my phone and not on my computer.  But it’s a start.

It’s time to show off my boots. In real life.  They’re cool hey?   Feel free to like them.  Over here…

boots

Pic lifted off the internet!

42 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. Love them. I’m a little jealous, actually. 😃
    Omg. I’m so I love with fb! Lol. Seriously! To watch the interactions of people and to notice how I try to appease the diverse views of my own fb “friends” is an interesting exercise in self-reflection. And it is interesting to see “likes” in certain things and pretty much no one likes the more heavy issues I post about.
    Still, what’s not to love about boots AND cheese sandwiches!! I’d be all about both on fb instead of talking about the stupidity of the US elections. Blech. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m still stuck on the appeal of the cheese sandwich. -_- That many likes for cheese?!?! Lol

    And I’m currently on a hiatus from Facebook. It can be very overwhelming at times and a huge time waster.

    Love the boots!

    Like

    1. I think cheese sandwiches are easier to engage with and you don’t have to take a stand like you do with something intense, politics for example, and then the comments just become OH MY GOD OVERWHELMING. Or depressing.

      Like

  3. I used to have a pair of boots like that! No kidding! Then the chewed on them and peed on them. Keep your boots away from dogs! They look great by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha ha ha….Facebook is indeed the boon and bane of this generation. I know of people, who literally believe that the world is interested to know what they do through every wakeful moment.

    Real post: “Man, I just yawned 7 times in the last 5 minutes. I am bored. lol!”

    This, apparently, is a “cute” status message for some!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

