Whore

This morning I went for a walk, got showered in raindrops, was called a whore by the homeless Ethiopian man, learned that there are ten words in Arabic for whore, picked up a coffee, got distracted by the pastries for twenty four minutes, walked home, opened my computer and googled whore in different languages.

There are actually more than ten words for whore in Arabic.

There are fifteen in French, all exotic sounding.  Mudblut hure is the German word, Barbooqa in Iraqi is fabulously expressive, and if you google, you will see that the Brazilians go wild with the word.

Whore might sound good and feel good – try it, kussi, petite pute, jecajeca — but goddammit, it’s insulting.  I’ve never forgotten when I was a teen getting ready to go out.  I put on a short skirt, mesh top and brand new stilettos that my mom had bought for me.

My dad took one look and said:-

Violet.  You look like a whore.  Go and change now.

He broke the heel off my stiletto.

I know he was ‘looking out for me’, I was his little girl, but I’ve never forgotten that.

Words stick.

Boys that I grew up with used the word a lot.  If a girl ‘put out’, she was the neighborhood whore.

She’s such a whore, they would say.

The poor girl who may have kissed just three boys and let one of them put his hand up her shirt; she was the whore.

That poor girl could’ve been me.

I don’t know if kids today still do that. Probably.

Words hurt.

And things stick.

It carries on through life. Different standards for men and women. Men get away with pretty much everything. Women do not.

Women are the whores.

I know the homeless Ethiopian is a bit insane and I am tolerant and find him mostly sad. I also have enough confidence to be able to give him the finger and tell him to fuck off.

But still.

That whore brought back a whole lot of memories.

You’re a bit of a fuckboy, I told the Ethiopian.

How do you say that in Arabic, he asked me?

Same, I said. Same in every single language.

Fuckboy.

whore

http://www.youswear.com/index.asp?word=whore#.Vsm4CzZUSyA

36 thoughts on “Whore

  1. I haven’t heard the word “whore” in a long time. Though “ho” is the expression I hear most often. I haven’t heard it in a long tyme either. Your post is cool because you reacted fairly.

    Like

      1. Okay. Guys are referred to as “hoes” in the context you referenced. Some people love money, career, life, health, cats and some people love sex, safely, with more than one person. Can’t please all the people at the same tyme. In fact, we have to please those we’re with at this tyme.

        Like

  2. I honestly detest it when people use such vile language on others and it’s really a very imbalanced scale. The guy messes around and he gets patted on the back and called a dude, while a lady is saddled with an ugly name and those words hurt.

    Like

  3. I love your posts. You have such a talent for seeing the important thing about everyday events. You’ll be great in politics!

    Words do hurt. They’re also very prejudiced. A whore is a woman who acts like a man.

    Like

  4. Words can be used brutally, and they certainly can hurt. I agree with you about different standards. If a guy has sex with a lot of women, he’s called a stud and is applauded for his prowess. But a woman is called a ‘whore’ if she does the same thing. I think men can have severe limitations when it comes to realizing women’s sexuality. That women can be sexual beings just as energetically as men can. Maybe younger generations will accept that, as we become more open-minded about people? Not that *everyone* is becoming more open-minded, but I think that gay and transgender people are more accepted in the past.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

