Violet Reviews.

I tried hard not to spill crumbs on the sheets or coffee down my cleavage. I tried hard not to smear butter over the pages or honey on my cheeks.

And I did try really hard to get up and out of bed.

But I couldn’t. Not until I’d read every single last word of Melinda Ferguson’s new book, Crashed.

I almost felt guilty for enjoying the book. Not just enjoying it, loving it. Because I was never overly complimentary about her first book, Smacked, also a memoir on addiction.

I know Melinda, not well, but I know her. We have kids the same age, mutual friends and we’re kinda in the same community.   I’d struggled, reading about things that she had done and had to do to get her daily fix. Smacked was a pretty in your face kind of book.

I have to admit, when I read that book, I was harsh.

Judgemental would be the word.

And not just me. I’d sat around many a dinner table where people trashed Melinda and her writing. Not because it’s badly written, because sweet Goddesses she is the most wonderful writer, but because people felt she’d aired just a little too much of her dirty laundry.

In her current book, Crashed, she’s been clean for fifteen years, then smashes a Ferrari. You’ll have to read the book to find out why she even has a Ferrari.

And then she spirals, out of control, fast. And she keeps on, crashing and crashing and crashing.

It’s compulsive reading. She airs a lot more dirty laundry.

And I have been a little obsessed by it.

Because I have learned so much. Apart from Melinda being very bloody brave, she has opened up discussions and debates about addiction. And not just addiction to heroin or crack cocaine but to social media, to sex, to love and to men.

I have one of these addictions. Maybe two. As do a lot of the people around those dinner tables.

Melinda’s journey of self-discovery really shed some light for me. She gave me quite a few boom bang kapow moments. And I realised how harsh I’d been with her first book. Somebody has to write these stories and good for her for being the one.

I don’t think this book is meant to be inspirational. But I found it inspiring. And helpful. And bloody brilliant reading. It’s funny, it’s sad, it’s raw and it’s heartbreaking.

And really worth a read. Buy it.

It’s addictive. 

Crashed.

10 thoughts on “Violet Reviews.

  1. Thanks so much for this …for your lovely writing and for your honesty about Smacked! These books are not easy ones to write and I always feel a little bit lots raw and crazy once finished but reading your review makes me feel a little whole lot better xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

