Guns n’ cupcakes

So there I was all cosy in my coffee shop writing about sex, dipping in and out of facebook, flirting a little with the guy sitting opposite me when suddenly – a bit of a commotion.

I was distracted.  What kind of idiots make a noise in a coffee shop?

Armed ones, apparently.

Two men, caps pulled low, dark glasses, and guns in their hands. Smoothly, seamlessly, holding up the patrons and helping themselves to their laptops and cellphones.

What do you do when you’re in the middle of an armed robbery? Yell? Scream? Risk being shot?

Take another sip of coffee in case it’s your last?

It was so quick. They were gone within seconds, cool as cucumbers, leaving in the escape car that was outside waiting for them.

Only afterwards did panic break out. We were tearful and shaky, everyone was in shock.

I just sat there, clutching my laptop to my chest. How lucky I had been that they never made it to my table.

But what does lucky mean? In South Africa, we have this really weird thing of saying ‘ 0h my god I was robbed, thank goodness no-one was hurt.’

And then we just carry on.

But it’s crazy. It’s insane. It’s a mad way to live.

And it happens all too often.

We gulped down our cold coffees but left our eggs, sad and rubbery, lying on the tables. Slowly, we scattered, unsure how to feel and what to do.

I got home. I finished writing my story. I called a friend to tell him what had happened.

He recommended a scotch or six, a red velvet cupcake and a pedicure. Plus a blog piece about the incident.

So that is what I did. I ate two cupcakes, had a manicure as well as a pedicure and now I am writing.

Also wondering what happened to the guy I was flirting with.  And feeling better already.

I shall have to go back to the coffee shop to find out.

25 thoughts on “Guns n’ cupcakes

  1. You are right, though – the first thing we SA’s say after something awful like that is – Thank goodness no-one was hurt or worse, killed.
    You were very lucky to keep your laptop. And yes, you have to go back to the coffee shop to face it, I think. Also, hopefully the thieves will now go elsewhere for their technical supplies!

    Like

  2. A car was hijacked today, in our sleepy Woodstock suburb, in broad daylight and I don’t know how to feel. I think I will have to go the cupcake and blog post route.

    Like

  3. Wow, I’m sorry you had such a stressful experience! The fact that no one was harmed is good thing though, given the outcome could have been much worse, as in Oregon here in the US.

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness! I hope you are doing okay? I have been in such scary situation 3 times in my life and it was not funny at all. I am probably going to share the 3 consecutive experiences soon. Just take it easy. The last time I visited SA I was so uncomfortable for no specific reason. Have a great weekend and do the flirting from a safe distance for now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

